Support Knowledgebase

Get better support by selecting a specific product

Resetting your Windows Mobile Treo smartphone

Resetting your Windows Mobile Treo smartphone

Article ID: 41108

If your smartphone is frozen, showing an error message, or exhibits unexpected behavior, you may need to reset it.

There are two kinds of reset: soft and hard. A soft reset is like restarting a desktop PC. A hard reset is like formatting your hard drive (but you can restore your backed-up personal data through ActiveSync).


Soft reset

A soft reset will restart your Treo smartphone. This comes in handy if your device freezes, crashes, shows an error message, or exhibits unexpected behavior.

This type of reset does not delete your personal data or the applications you've added.
 

Instructions for the Treo 700w or 700wx:
  1. If charging, disconnect your smartphone from its charger.
  2. Turn off wireless mode by pressing and holding the red Power/End key .
  3. Turn off the screen of your smartphone and wait a few seconds?1;.
  4. Take off the battery cover, then remove the battery for approximately one second.
  5. Re-insert the battery and replace the cover.

 

Instructions for the Treo 750:
  1. If charging, disconnect your smartphone from its charger.
  2. Turn off wireless mode by pressing and holding the red Power/End key .
  3. Turn off the screen of your smartphone and wait a few seconds?1;.
  4. Open the Mini SD card slot cover (located on the side of the Treo 750) and locate the Reset button.
  5. Using the stylus (located on the top right of the Treo 750) briefly press the tip of the stylus into the locating hole for the Reset button.   

 

 

1 - This is to ensure that the operating system has stored current program data to persistent flash memory. Note: turning off the screen is not always possible if the operating system has stopped responding.


Hard reset

If a soft reset doesn't solve your problem, you may need to perform a hard reset, which deletes all data on your device, including Outlook information and add-on applications.

Warning
Before performing a hard reset, please read the section below regarding what data is backed up during an ActiveSync synchronization and how to restore your data.
  1. A hard reset deletes all information and third-party software on your smartphone.
  2. Never perform a hard reset without first trying a soft reset.
  3. You can restore previously synchronized information the next time you sync.
  4. Some third-party applications do not create a backup on your computer when you synchronize. If you perform a hard reset, you may lose data in these applications and you will need to reinstall the application after the hard reset. Please contact the developer to find out which data is backed up during synchronization.

Why perform a hard reset?
A hard reset can tell you whether a persistent problem stems from your smartphone or from an application installed on it. If you do not experience the problem after you perform a hard reset, the problem may be related to software you installed.

How to perform a hard reset

  1. If charging, disconnect your smartphone from its charger.
  2. Take off the battery door, but don't take out the battery yet.
  3. Press and hold Power/End .
  4. While holding Power/End, remove the battery for approximately one second, then replace it while still holding Power/End.
  5. When you see "Erase all data?" you can release Power/End. Press Up to confirm the hard reset.
  6. If a language selection screen appears, pick the same language you use in your desktop software.

Restoring data after a hard reset

Although a hard reset deletes all data from your smartphone, you can sync with Outlook to restore Calendar, Contacts, and other items. Any personalizations and usage tracking settings must be set up again.

What IS restored when you sync?

The first time you sync, these items will automatically be restored.

  • Calendar appointments
  • Contacts
  • Tasks?1;
  • Notes?1;
  • E-mail and attachments
  • Favorites?1; (web)
  • Files?1;?2;
  • Media?1;?3;

1 - Restored only by synchronizing with Windows PC. Cannot be restored through Exchange Server sync (i.e. wirelessly).
2 - Restored only if the File sync option is turned on. By default, it is off. Refer to your smartphone's user guide for more information.
3 - Refers to the Windows Media Player relationship for media sync. By default, this option is off. Refer to your smartphone's user guide to learn more.

What is NOT restored when you sync?

Re-install these items manually:

  • Add-on applications that aren't built into your device (third-party utilities, games, etc.)
  • Data in add-on applications
  • Add-on ringtones and sounds
  • Themes
  • Any other add-on items not listed above

Re-configure these items manually:

  • Personal, system and connections settings
  • Application-specific settings
  • Today screen preferences
  • Bluetooth pairing with accessories
  • VPN settings
  • Today screen settings
  • Owner Information setting

These items are permanently lost when you perform a hard reset:

  • Call log and data usage log
  • SMS history
  • Phone favorites (speed dials)
  • Sent messages on device
  • Any other items not listed above