Palm Pre Sprint

Palm Pre Sprint

Lifecycle phase: Mature. Release: June 2009. About Lifecycles.

Palm Support : Palm Pre Sprint
Using Backup

Using Backup

Article ID: 19388

Note: Not all devices support the Tasks app.

Using Backup

What Palm profile data is and is not backed up

Note Palm profile data is not encrypted on your phone, but all Palm profile data backed up to the Palm server is encrypted on the server. The data can be accessed only from your phone by you, the profile owner. There is no online data source or other location from which to view the Palm profile contacts, calendar, tasks, memos, or other items that are backed up to the Palm server. Additionally, Palm cannot view the contents of your Palm profile backup, even though the file is stored on a Palm server.

Important On HP webOS 1.3.1 or above, if you perform any erase function other than Erase USB Drive, after signing in to your Palm profile, you are asked to enter the password for each of your online accounts. If you skip this step, you receive an Incorrect Password alert the next time the account tries to sync. Tap the alert to display the Change Login Settings screen, where you can enter the password to enable syncing again. You can also open a sync account and navigate to this screen at any time: (Calendar/Contacts/Email) > application menu > Preferences & Accounts > tap the account name > enter the username and password.

The following table summarizes which data is backed up and which data is not backed up by the Backup app.

Application/Preference

Backed up

Not backed up

Amazon MP3 (if available on your phone)

Nothing is backed up.

You can copy files from the phone to your computer while the phone is in USB mode. See Using USB Drive mode to transfer photos, music, videos, documents, and other files to your phone .

You can also use a third-party solution to automate the transfer of media files between your phone and your computer (go to palm.com/sync-solutions).

 

App Catalog

When you sign in to your Palm profile after your phone is erased, apps you downloaded from App Catalog are downloaded again.

Settings and data stored in an application.

Applications not installed from App Catalog.

Bluetooth

Nothing is backed up.

 

Calendar

Events saved to your Palm profile account on the phone.

On webOS versions before 1.3.1, account credentials (usernames and passwords) for accounts that synchronize calendar events online, for example, Google. After 1.3.1, only the username is backed up.

Calendar preferences, for example, day start time, day end time, etc.

Events stored in online accounts.

Password for online accounts that sync, like Facebook. If Facebook was set up, you?ll have to reenter your password when the account is restored.

Contacts

Contacts saved to your Palm profile account on the phone.On webOS versions before 1.3.1, account credentials (usernames and passwords) for accounts that synchronize contacts online, for example, Google. After 1.3.1, only usernames are backed up.

Contacts preferences, for example, sort order, default account, etc.; photos added to a contact from a local image on the phone.

Contacts stored in online accounts.Linking relationships between contacts.Password for online accounts that sync, like Facebook. If Facebook was set up, you?ll have to reenter your password when the account is restored.Contact speed dials.

Original contact photos added from a local image on the phone.

Date & Time

Nothing is backed up.

 

Doc View

Nothing is backed up.

You can copy these files from the phone to your computer while the phone is in USB mode. See Using USB Drive mode to transfer photos, music, videos, documents, and other files to your phone .

 

Email

On webOS versions before 1.3.1, account credentials (usernames and passwords). After 1.3.1, only usernames are backed up. Your email accounts are restored automatically, and the accounts are synchronized when you restore your Palm profile.

Email contents, attachments, sort order, and account preferences.

Facebook

If the account is set up in Contacts or Calendar, your username is backed up.

Account password.

Language

Nothing is backed up.

Note: Language settings are selected on first use and are not backed up.

 

Launcher

Nothing is backed up.

 

LinkedIn

If the account is set up in Contacts or Calendar, your username is backed up.

Account password.

Location Services

Nothing is backed up.

 

Memos

All memos.

 

Messaging

On webOS versions before 1.3.1, account credentials (usernames and passwords). After 1.3.1, only usernames are backed up.

Message contents, passwords, attachments, and history.

PDF View

Nothing is backed up.

You can copy these files from the phone to your computer while the phone is in USB mode. See Using USB Drive mode to transfer photos, music, videos, documents, and other files to your phone .

 .

Phone

Nothing is backed up.

Photos

On webOS versions before 1.3.1, account credentials (usernames and passwords) for accounts that can upload to online data sources; for example, Facebook and Photobucket. After 1.3.1, only usernames are backed up.

No photos are backed up.

You can copy photos from the phone to your computer while the phone is in USB mode. See Using USB Drive mode to transfer photos, music, videos, documents, and other files to your phone .

Password for online accounts that sync, like Facebook. If Facebook was set up, you?ll have to reenter your password when the account is restored.

Regional Settings

Nothing is backed up.

 

Screen & Lock

Nothing is backed up.

 

Sounds & Ringtones

Nothing is backed up.

 

Tasks

Tasks saved to your Palm profile account.

On webOS versions before 1.3.1, account credentials (usernames and passwords) for accounts that synchronize tasks online, for example Microsoft Exchange. After 1.3.1, only usernames are backed up.

Tasks stored in online accounts.

Password for online accounts that sync, like Exchange.

Wallpaper

Nothing is backed up.

 

Web

Browser bookmarks.

Browser cookies are backed up. For example, if you stored your username and password on a web-based email site, you can continue to access the site without needing to log in.

Downloads and web settings.

Wi-Fi (if available on your phone)

Nothing is backed up, including settings and passwords for Wi-Fi networks.

 

Using the Backup app

  1. Open Backup . Screenshot Back Up Now
  2. Do any of the following:
    • Back up your information manually: Tap Back up now.
    • Turn off automatic backup and delete backed-up information: Tap On to switch backup from On to Off. Tap Turn Off And Erase Data. This deletes all your information on the server. It does not affect the information on your phone.

      Did you know? Go to Device Info to delete the information on your phone. See Restarting and resetting your phone .

    • Turn on automatic backup if you had previously turned it off: Tap Off to switch backup from Off to On. Tap Back up now to create a backup on the server.

palm.com/gettingstarted

Walk me through webOS

Stop by our video learning center to discover how your phone works with web accounts, how to get the most from your battery, and more.

Getting Started